Tournament Structure

We have 19 squads registered this year with over 200 players competing for our three titles. This is how the day will be set up:

Morning play

First matches kick off at 10am. Teams will be split into four groups (three groups of 5 teams and one group of 4 teams), where all teams will play each other once, for four games per team (three games per team in the smaller group). The smaller group will have an extra result added which will be calculated from an average of their other three results. All results will be fed into one big league, to determine overall standings. After morning play has finished the top 7 teams in the league will progress to the top tier (Calthorpe Cup), the next 6 teams will progress to the second tier (Beorma Shield) and the last 6 teams will progress to the third tier (Eden Tankard) for afternoon play.

Afternoon play

  • Calthorpe Cup – Play will follow a traditional knockout route with a quarter-final, semi-final and final. One team (determined by random draw) will receive a bye through the quarter final
  • Beorma Shield – All teams will play a quarter-final match. The winning three teams will then all play each other once in a mini-league to determine the winner of the tier
  • Eden Tankard – Same as Beorma Shield

This means that the lowest number of games a team will play on the day is 4, and the maximum is 7, with most teams playing at least 5

Leave a Reply